Tribute to my Uncle

Image

Although my uncle he was lovingly called as Krishnettan or Krishnoppa (meaning Krishnan Brother in Malayalam).
Photo Courtesy: Sreehari Attoor

My dear Krishnettan,

When I got the news, I felt just moments before you entered the kitchen to have your breakfast. From the time you left after breakfast and till the time I got the news, so many things happened- we grew up, got educated, settled in our jobs, made families, you all aged………..Oh my! So many things, so many changes! However, amidst all this, one thing stayed on- the bond of love. We all grew up loving and caring each other- the love and care- taught by you.

I know you would be surprised, but the thing I remember the most is your devotion towards your mother and uncle (by grandfather). You visited the doctor one day in your mundu (loin cloth/ dhoti) and thorthu mundu (towel to cover the upper part of the body) instead of a shirt just so that your mother does not worry unnecessarily. This incident did leave an ever-lasting impression in my heart.

This is what I can gather about you in a nutshell:

Seems like just yesterday,

That I was enchanted by your smiles…..

But,

Today you are far far away-

Don’t know how many miles.

Your twinkling eyes, your husky voice,

Your little snores, the beedi vice

Your deep love, the hot temper

Are-

The things I most remember.

With all the love

I know, high above

You are flying on The Dove

And

Watching all whom you adore.

About writingsfromira

A writer with a deep set passion for playing with words. Words are like beads which when threaded together make a beautiful necklace that need careful handling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tribute to my Uncle

  1. Sakhi says:

    Touching

  2. Pingback: Tribute to my Uncle | writingsfromira

Leave a Reply

